Music in 2015

I think it’s unfair for me to put together a “Best of” list for music in 2015. I can’t say that music wasn’t good in 2015, because the industry dished out some very memorable albums that will surely stick with me for years to come. However, a lot of this year’s gems were lost on me. In the last 7 months, I finished college, I got a job, and I moved 1,649 miles away from home to a place surrounded by mountains and Mormons. With so much change on the horizon, I grasped onto everything that was familiar, and that included all of my old favorite songs and albums, going out of my way to watch every Red Wings game,  and non-discriminately swiping right for every single Michigander on Tinder, etc. etc. So, as much as I’d love to offer my favorite albums of the year, the truth is, I really only spent any time with these albums this year:

To Pimp a Butterfly – Kendrick Lamar

Carrie and Lowell – Sufjan Stevens

Star Wars – Wilco

Goon – Tobias Jesso, Jr.

Strangers to Ourselves – Modest Mouse

Jr Jr – Jr Jr(FKA Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr.)

I really enjoyed most of these albums, and if you know me at all Sufjan is my favorite man in the world(not an exaggeration). But the albums and songs that meant the most to me this year are as follows:

Everything All the Time – Band of Horses(specifically “The Great Salt Lake”for obvious reasons)

All of Sufjan Stevens’ discography

All of Animal Collective’s discography

“America” – First Aid Kit(Simon and Garfunkel cover)

High Violet – The National

“Life of a Match/The Crucial Comeback Song” 7″ – The Matches

In Evening Air – Future Islands

Twelve Towns – Into It. Over It.

I’ve got a lot of catching up to do, but 2016 is right around the corner. I think I’m ready for it.

But in the meantime, instead of holding your breath for a truly definitive list from me, read my buddy Alec Hillyer’s take on music in 2015 right here. And if you want more where that came from, check out my friend Luda’s project(curated in part with Alec), In Bloom, for more great content.

 

 

Published by

wohlverine

Twenty-Something guy entering the real world

Leave a comment